Wedding Date Significance

I was looking through one of my prayer notebooks yesterday and was astonished when I saw a note to myself from Aug. 6th, 2009. This note was written roughly two and a half years from the time we met.

Two Becoming One

My husband and I met in university in the year 2006, and we had been friends for a long time. It didn’t take long for us to know  we were meant for each other. I pretended I never liked him for a very long time. (But thats for another blog).

While we were in university, we were both youth pastor/leader in two different churches. In the beginning, we were confused and prayed a lot about where we will go to church together, and how our marriage will be; especially, since church was a huge part of our lives. My husband and I knew that he would end up coming to my church and share in ministry. We patiently prayed and waited for someone to take over his ministry at his church, so the youths of that church wouldn’t feel abandoned. 

MZGC (http://www.mountzion.ca) is the church I attended. We had a lot of girls in our church, but when it came to boys, there were hardly any. I blamed this on the lack of male role-models at that time. I was just patiently waiting for the day he would join us and help me in the youth ministry, so we didn’t look like an all girls youth ministry.

The Note

I have many prayer notebooks, too many to count. I started when I was around 12 years old. Yesterday, I randomly picked out one of the newer notebooks and I flipped through it casually. When I got to the last page, I was wowed!

The note read,

“Aug. 6th, 2009

Josh said, he would be at MZGC 2 years from now”

I wrote this note in faith that God would make it come to pass.

On Aug 6th 2011, exactly 2 years after I wrote the note, my husband had married me. From that day forward he came to MZGC.

I find it quit interesting how God works.

Our wedding day had such significance and we didn’t even know it at the time we chose the date! Is that awesome or what?

It made my day!

And on a side note, after my husband had joined the church, countless boys have started to attend. His presence has brought a huge change. I thank God for every little bit of it.

Have you experienced anything like this? Do you think there are prayers that God has answered, which you don’t know about yet? Feel free to share your thoughts. 

6 thoughts on “Wedding Date Significance

  1. I prayer journal too! You’re right- it is amazing to look back and see how God was working but that we couldn’t see till later on. 🙂 great post!

Leave a Reply

