Married in Heaven… What a Funny Thought

One day when my husband and I were walking, he said,

“Even if we live until we’re 90, that’s too short of a time I got on this earth with you. But we will be together in heaven right? I want to be with you forever and ever.”

I found his comment cute! He said it like a little child who wanted chocolate for lunch everyday for the rest of his life. This was in his beginning stages of going to a church and becoming a mature Christian.

I gave a little laugh and said, “You know babes, when we’re in heaven, we’re no longer married? No one in heaven stays married! The Bible says, you become His bride and Christ is your groom. In His resurrection, there are no married people. When we see Him, we will not think about the house we left behind, or the husband we left behind.”

It is sad that I won’t be married to my husband, but what matters more, is that I get to be apart of the kingdom of God. 

My husband gave me a face like, what do you mean?

And with great disappointment in his voice he said, “We live such a short life and this time I got on earth is all the time I have with you!?  That’s it?  Really? Are you sure? That’s too short of a time I got with you!”

Limits to love

I married my husband knowing he can never love me like Christ, BUT that doesn’t mean my husband doesn’t love me. He is human like all other people and makes mistakes and won’t always know how to make me happy, or understand me right away, but no one really can. My husband’s love is limited; he only shares what he has received. In the beginning of our relationship, at one point I felt I couldn’t love my husband any more that my love was limited. I told him, “I don’t know if I can love you back the way you love me.” This can be true for some marriages, we can only share the love we were shown, until Christ gives you HIS LOVE, and that allows you to share more of Christ’s love with your spouse. Marriage is one of the ways God uses to show His love for us.


God comes in and God becomes that greater love that my husband can’t fulfill, and no other man in the world can fulfill. Certain things in life only God can fulfill, we can’t expect husbands to do this. If you are about to get married and think your future husband will be the secret to your happiness. Let me tell you right now; you have put a heavy load on the man you are going to get married to and he cannot fulfill it no matter how much he tries. He cannot be that ultimate happiness, this is only going to bring you to discouragement. In reality if you do this, you are putting your trust in your husband for your happiness instead of God. Jesus alone can be your source of ultimate happiness.

 “… that you may be able to comprehend (and grasp) how wide, long, high, and deep His love is.”    -Eph. 3:17-19 

My First Love

“Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken the love you had at first.”  -Rev 2:4

The bible teaches us that our first love should be Christ, and no one else should take that place.  My husband and I have learned in the beginning of our relationship to put Christ first. If one of us were to call the other and the other had just started praying, we wouldn’t stop prayer or say we will pray later and talk to the other. We let each other know we are praying and hang up. We put God FIRST, by continuing prayer.

My husband is the best thing I got, right after Jesus.

 

Did you get into marriage hoping your husband will be the source of your happiness?

Have you ever felt that you can’t love someone more than what you already have shown them? How would you describe your first love experience?


Other websites that can be helpful for your marriage:
http://www.marriagemissions.com/christian-marriage-vs-christ-centered-marriage/
http://www.marriagemissions.com/category/marriage-videos/

2 thoughts on “Married in Heaven… What a Funny Thought

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog today 🙂 I had to come and check yours out and I really enjoyed reading it! It’s so sweet and honest. I esp love this post 🙂 Keep writing…even after you have little ones, goodness you’ll have lots of material then! I have been married 11 years now with 3 daughters…the best gift you can give your family is putting God first in your own life! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

